Anaesthesiologists Department

The Anaesthesiologists Department is affiliated to the South East Dublin Department of Anaesthesia group of Hospitals, (SEDDA). The staff complement at the Hospital at present consists of seven Consultant Anaesthetists with joint appointments with St. Vincent’s University Hospital, St James’s Hospital and Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital Crumlin and four Anaesthetic Trainees from the Eastern Anaesthetic Training Scheme; SEDDA; an airway fellow and an independent position.

There is an active in house teaching schedule, full participation in the SEDDA educational programme and extensive links with the College of Anaesthetists of Ireland via a college tutor and contributing extensively to the simulation centre there. Research is actively encouraged and supported.

The Department provides anaesthetic and medical care to approximately 7,000 inpatients in the peri-operative period on an annual basis. Pre-operative Assessment clinics are provided to asses the suitability of patients for Day Care Surgery and Anaesthesia, either general or local. Anaesthesia services are provided in the 5 theatre suite complex, where major surgical procedures are performed in ENT-HN and Ophthalmology, under either general or local techniques, both in adults and children. Comprehensive perioperative care of all of these patients is directed by the staff from the department.


Consultant Anaesthesiologists

Dr Deirdre McCoy
Dr Dermot Kelly
Prof Muhammad Mukhtar (Chairperson)
Dr Denise Rohan
Dr Mark Halligan
Dr Niall Fanning
Dr Brendan O’Hare