Overview of Department

The Department of Ophthalmology is staffed by thirteen consultant ophthalmic surgeons and is the largest department of its kind in the country.

All the major ophthalmic subspecialties are catered for. Consultants have joint appointments with St Vincent’s University Hospital, St Michael’s Hospital, St Colmcille’s Hospital, St James’s Hospital and our Lady’s Hospital for Sick Children.

Two consultants hold professor positions, one affiliated with the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland and the other with Trinity College, Dublin. Non consultant staff include 4 Specialist Registrars, 2 Surgical Registrars, 7 Senior House Officers and 1 Clinical Fellow Post.

Consultants Profile

  1. Mr. Donal Brosnahan
  2. Mr. Mark Cahill
  3. Professor Lorraine Cassidy
  4. Ms. Aoife Doyle
  5. Mr. Noel Horgan
  6. Mr. Dara Kilmartin
  7. Professor Conor Murphy
  8. Professor William J Power
  9. Mr. Patrick Talty
  10. Mr Jeremy O’Connor
  11. Ms. Rizwana Khan
  12. Mr. Edward Loane
  13. Mr. Barry Quill
  14. Ms. Andrea Ryan

Outpatients Department

There are currently 25 consultant led clinics per week.

Subspecialty clinics include corneal clinic, glaucoma clinic, uveitis clinic, neurophthalmology clinic, ocuplastic and orbital clinic, paediatric clinic, strabismus clinic, contact lens clinic, retinal clinic, macular degeneration clinic and diabetic retinopathy screening clinic.

All clinics are staffed by a consultant and experienced Non Consultant Hospital Doctors. There are approximately 30,000 patient visits per year.


The Hospital carries out by far the largest number of elective ophthalmic surgeries in the country. EMERGENCY THEATRE COVER is provided every day throughout the year. There are three fully equipped dedicated ophthalmic theatres, with an average of twenty six theatre sessions per week.

In 2006, 5,100 surgical procedures were performed. All theatres are fully equipped enabling surgeons carry out all forms of advanced intraocular microsurgery.

Accident and Emergency Department

For information go to Accident and Emergency.