The Royal Victoria Eye and Ear Hospital was established by the Dublin Eye and Ear Hospital Act, 1897. The Act sets out the governance structure for the Hospital.

The Hospital is a registered charity – Charities Registration Number 20002374 (CHY 1604).

Hospital Council

The Council is comprised of a maximum 20 members. The Council governs the Hospital and is responsible for the financial performance, the quality of its healthcare services, research and education and integration of services with other healthcare providers. The Council delegates executive and operational responsibilities to the management team. The Council meets monthly during the year, except in January, April and August.

Members of the Council are:

  • Mr Patrick Dowling – President                          (Member since March 2012) *(1)
  • Mr John Casey                                                      (Member since March 2012) *(1)
  • Ms Doreen Delahunty                                         (Member since March 2012) *(2)
  • Mr Paul Moriarty – Acting Chief Executive       (Member since March 2018)
  • Ms Susan Gilvarry                                               (Member since March 2015) *(3)
  • Ms Elaine Hanly                                                   (Member since March 2012) *(3)
  • Mr Stephen Hone                                                (Member since March 2015)
  • Dr Dermot Kelly                                                   (Member since March 2008)
  • Mr Hugh Kelly                                                      (Member since March 2012) *(2)
  • Mr Dara Kilmartin                                               (Member since March 2012)
  • Dr Stephen Murphy                                            (Member since March 2018)
  • Mr Declan O’Donoghue                                     (Member since March 2015) *(1)
  • Mr Willie O’Reilly                                                (Member since March 2012) *(1)

Ex-Officio Members:

  • The Lord Mayor of Dublin
  • Dublin City Councillor – Mr Ciaran O’Moore

In attendance:

  • Mr. Paul Moriarty         – Clinical Director
  • Ms Sinead Buckley      – Director of Operations and Human Resources
  • Ms Elspeth Finlay        – Director of Nursing
  • Ms Sharon Gaffney     – Director of Finance and Organisation Services
  • Ms Suzanne Grant      – Director of Operations and Human Resources
  • Mr Mark Rafferty         – Director of Audit, Education and Research

* Denotes Member of the following committee

(1) Finance Committee (2) Audit and Risk Committee (3) Ethics and Medical Research Committee

application/pdf icon View our Corporate Governance Manual.